MHA Program Scholarships

The UW MHA program offers five scholarship awards to current MHA students. These scholarships honor and support students who embody the program’s values of diversity, service and leadership, and who demonstrate knowledge of and ability to apply such values within the program, and the health care profession’s scope of practice. Scholarships focus on different topics and formats to recognize the variety of diverse experiences our students bring to the program and the field.

All qualifying MHA students who submit a complete application form to the program through a dedicated online system will be considered for scholarships. Award decisions are made by the MHA program director and a board of teaching faculty members. Award winners will be publicly recognized at the annual alumni event and also in the MHA alumni newsletter and on program websites.

See the 2020–2021 recipients.

Essay-Based Scholarship Awards

Open to: 1st- and 2nd-year MHA students
Applications open: October 1, 2021
Submission deadline:  October 31, 2021, 11:59 p.m.
Recipients notified by: December 17, 2021

HSEED Equity and Diversity Award

The Health Services Excellence, Equity and Distinction (HSEED) Award was established by the Department of Health Systems and Population Health in 2016 in an effort to increase the number of health professionals from diverse communities in the field of public health and health services. This award recognizes those who have overcome barriers to entering higher education or health care administration, and the contributions they will bring to the field. These barriers can include, but are not limited to, race, ethnicity, gender or gender identity, economic status, disability, veteran status, age, sexual orientation, nationality and/or access to education. Recipients are honored for their outstanding academic merit, diversity of experiences and backgrounds, and potential for leadership in health care.

Award Amount: $5,000

Impact Award

This award honors students who exemplify principles of service: commitment to the needs of communities, to programs that improve the human condition, and to efforts to protect and empower all individuals. This award recognizes students who demonstrate service to unserved and underserved communities and populations.

Emerging Leader Award

This award honors an innovative and inclusive leader of tomorrow who brings a unique lens to the field of health care administration. The award includes students with non-traditional leadership experiences, who expand the definition of leadership and add value to the field.

Distinguished Presentation Awards

Open to: 1st- and 2nd-year MHA students
Applications open: October 1, 2021
Intent to submit deadline: October 15, 2021
Submission deadline: October 31, 2021, 11:59 p.m.
Presentations held:  November 18–19, 2021
Recipients notified by:  December 17, 2021

The Distinguished Presentation Awards honor students who demonstrate outstanding presentation skills and exceptional understanding of the field of health care administration. Each year program faculty propose two emerging topics in health care. Students choose one topic to address during a 10-minute presentation before a panel of faculty judges. One student from each of the two cohorts will receive this award. First- and second-year students will not be competing against one another. If you would like to participate, please email by the intent to submit deadline.

Allocation: One scholarship is awarded for each cohort.